in ,

Smriti Mandhana bags top ICC Award

Smriti Mandhana bags top ICC Award

It’s a well established news that our Indian Cricket team captain Virat Kholi, tops the ICC Test ranking and ODI ranking list and has made our nation proud.

Another milestone in the history of Indian Women’s cricket, is that Mandhana was crowned with “ICC Women’s Cricketer of the year and “ICC Women’s ODI player of the year”, awards on 31 December 2018, adding feathers to the Indian Women’s Cricket Cap!

Mandhana is one cricketer who stands with a mark made for herself in Indian Women’s cricket also now in the International Women’s cricket arena.

The batswoman is the first Indian to feature in England’s flagship T20 tournament for women. She scored an unbeaten 52 off 19 balls against Loughborough Lightning, creating a new record.

Smriti Mandhana backed home “Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award” for the Women’s cricketer of the year and also been recognised as “ICC Women’s ODI player of the year”.

The 22-year-old Mandhana is the second Indian woman to win an International Cricket Council award, fast bowler Jhulan Goswami being the first one who was named the women’s player of the year in 2007.

Her spectacular innings in “ICC Women’s World T20”, in West Indies scoring 178 in Five matches at the strike rate of 125.35 and has earned a huge appreciation from the Indian cricket audience.

Mandhana currently ranks 4th in the MRF Tyres ICC Women’s players ranking for batters and 10th in the MRF Tyres ICC Women’s players rankings for T20I batters.

“The awards are pretty special because as a player when you score runs, you want the team to win, and then when you get acknowledged for your performances through these awards, it motivates you to work harder and do well for your team,” Mandhana reported to ICC elatedly on receiving the awards.

She was also congratulated by many cricketers including Harsha Bhogle, Anjum Chopra, Jaydev Unadkat and so on.

ICC chief executive David Richardson congratulated Mandhana, quoting she was “a worthy winner” of the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award, named after the extraordinary English player.

Congratulations to the indomitable Mandhana! Way to go.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Bharat Ratna awards announced

Bharat Ratna awards – 2019 announced!

Xiaomi plans to launch a foldable smartphone Soon

Xiaomi plans to launch a Foldable Smartphone Soon!